Coat of Arms - Ordinaries


An ordinary is considered to be a charge, or bearing, of simple form.
The ordinaries, or as they are called by the majority of heraldic writers, honorable ordinaries, are thought to be nine in number as follows:

Chief, Cross, Pale, Saltire, Fesse, Pile, Chevron, Quarter, and Bend.


In some areas they also call the Bend Sinister an ordinary and to keep with the idea that there are only nine ordinaries, they then call the Quarter a sub-ordinary, or a diminutive. We will display both bends here.